Keep Going

I said it once (let’s be real I have said it a million times) and I will say it again…but 2020 is a big, ugly, bitter bitch, with no edges, and no chill. This year has just been one thing after another! I walked into this year dead set on really pushing Lola’s Kisses, but after Covid 19 and protest due to the police killing black people over and over I started to think that now is not this time. Who the hell cares about lip balm and body butta when people are dying form a virus and the police? I just did not feel right to try and sell folks stuff I times like this.  

That feeling was short lived when I realized that pushing Lola’s Kisses right now was actually what I needed to do. It is so many folks out of work so finding a job is going to be tough plus the plan was for me to branch out on my own, so I needed to stick to my guns. I want to show my children that you always keep going no matter what is going on around you.  Also, to quote Jay-Z “I can’t help the poor if I am one of them. So I get rich and give back to them” if I want to help my people, I need to get my money right and my voice heard.  

I got busy making product, designing new labels, promoting, and networking (networking is soooooooooo key I should do piece on it) everyday no matter what…and sure enough orders starting coming in as well as new IG followers. I even walked into a few beauty supplies to hand out samples. I was so nervous and had literality cuss myself out to man up, but it worked out I got some great feedback and am I now working on getting Lola’s Kisses in a few stores. Everything just started coming together, which shows me I am on the right path.  

Painful times give birth to beauty…I have seen so many different people coming together during these times and shift in how Americans think. We have more to do but I feel a change coming and I for one plan on being a part of it. I plan on growing Lola’s Kisses in to a successful brand for my daughters and all girls of color. To show them and motivate them to follow their dreams and be owners not just buyers.   

Leave a comment